The Game Plan

I spent much of the later parts of December re-imagining where I want to go with my next project.

It turned out to be a very worthwhile time just to think things over and consider all the improvements I can make from my first project. I feel much more comfortable with what I want to do now, and that really helps in the long run. Going into a project you’re not 100% excited about makes it 100% likely to be dropped halfway through production. I learned that from my Visual Basic experiments.

I’ve played room-escape game after room-escape game after room-escape game and have been searching desperately for that key formula to create some really ingenious puzzles. I got so frustrated trying to create things that give players that glorious “Ah-ha!” moment I get when I play the classic flash room-escape games. I almost went to someone just to make puzzles. Then I wondered how that would really go down. “Wanted: Puzzler-type person.”

There’s also the fact that the puzzles and design are so closely tied together, having the puzzle writer completely in sync with the artist would be frustrating in itself.

So I started tackling puzzles, mechanics, and gizmos while at work.

Blueprints (Or..eh..white-prints...)

I want to touch on a very important flaw I thought my first project had. Instead of being fed information by intros and cutscenes, I’m going to let the game do the talking (so to speak). All the great games I sampled over the holidays had this impressive and engaging sense of discovery. Plot would be melded into the game so flawlessly by items and things the player sees for themselves. The purest sense of “first-person”.

A couple more tricks, and I’m ready to pump out some art for the game. The puzzles are bizarre and logical at the same time, pretty surreal. I’m excited to give this my all.

One Response to “The Game Plan”

  1. Wow cell must be looking good

Leave a Reply

